ASTE (Alaska Society for Technology in Education)

I spent the last two days at the ASTE conference “Exploring the Cloud Frontier” at the Hotel Captain Cook.

It was nice to see old educator friends from Kodiak, Kotzebue, Dillingham, and Fairbanks. I even ran into someone I grew up with in Virginia! There were some interesting vendors. I kept the Promethean rep busy with many many questions and saw a demonstration of Mimio which makes any standard whiteboard into an interactive whiteboard! I am excited to coordinate with a colleague in Dillingham in Second Life and to have met some Ed Tech teachers from the Anchorage School District. The best presentations I attended included one on YouTube (There were many little things I didn’t know and what a dynamic high school teacher who presented!) and one on publishing content to the Kindle (who knew how easy it is?).

Tuesday’s Featured Speaker was Lee Crockett of the InfoSavvy Group (http://www.infosavvygroup.com/). In addition to the opening session on Living on the Future Edge: Windows on Tomorrow, I attended his very interesting session, Literacy is NOT Enough: 21st Century Fluencies for the Digital Age. He delineated the critical thinking skills of the 21st century using the following framework: Digital Citizen, Solution Fluency, Creativity Fluency, Collaboration Fluency, Media Fluency, and Information Fluency.

It was also interesting to find out more about the Quality Matters peer review program Kenai Peninsula College is using to develop quality online and hybrid courses (http://www.qmprogram.org/new-website-welcome-page).

Next week, I will post the tips I learned about using YouTube in the classroom and generating and publishing content to the Kindle (once I have a chance to do it myself first!).

One thought on “ASTE (Alaska Society for Technology in Education)

Leave a Reply

